Cricket World Cup Winners List from 1975 to 2023

Explore the comprehensive list of Cricket World Cup winners, relive the historic moments, and discover interesting insights about the teams that have clinched this coveted trophy.

Cricket is more than just a sport; it’s a passion, a way of life for millions around the globe. And at the pinnacle of cricketing glory stands the Cricket World Cup. The World Cup is not just a tournament; it’s a spectacle, a celebration of the gentleman’s game. In this article, we will delve into the annals of cricketing history to present you with a comprehensive list of Cricket World Cup winners.

Cricket World Cup Winners List

Join us on this journey through time as we relive the historic moments and uncover fascinating insights about the teams that have etched their names in cricketing lore.

YearHostWinnerRunner-upFinal Margin
1975EnglandWest IndiesAustraliaWest Indies won by 17 runs
1979EnglandWest IndiesEnglandWest Indies won by 92 runs
1983EnglandIndiaWest IndiesIndia won by 43 runs
1987India & PakistanAustraliaEnglandAustralia won by 7 runs
1992Australia & New ZealandPakistanEnglandPakistan won by 22 runs
1996Pakistan & IndiaSri LankaAustraliaSri Lanka won by 7 wickets
1999EnglandAustraliaPakistanAustralia won by 8 wickets
2003South AfricaAustraliaIndiaAustralia won by 125 runs
2007West IndiesAustraliaSri LankaAustralia won by 53 runs
2011India, Sri Lanka & BangladeshIndiaSri LankaIndia won by 6 wickets
2015Australia & New ZealandAustraliaNew ZealandAustralia won by 7 wickets
2019England & WalesEnglandNew ZealandEngland won by boundary count after super over

1975 – West Indies: The First Kings of Cricket World Cup

The inaugural Cricket World Cup in 1975 marked the birth of a new era in cricket. Held in England, this tournament witnessed the emergence of West Indies as the first champions. The West Indies defeated Australia in a thrilling final by 17 runs, setting the stage for a legacy that would continue for years to come.

1983 – India’s Historic Triumph

The 1983 Cricket World Cup, hosted by England, witnessed one of the most iconic moments in cricketing history. India, led by the inspirational Kapil Dev, defied all odds to defeat the mighty West Indies in the final. India’s triumph by 43 runs not only brought home the coveted trophy but also ignited a cricketing revolution in the country.

1992 – Pakistan’s Cornerstone Victory

Australia and New Zealand jointly hosted the 1992 Cricket World Cup. This tournament will forever be etched in the memory of cricket enthusiasts as Pakistan, under the leadership of Imran Khan, lifted their first-ever World Cup trophy. Pakistan’s 22-run victory over England in the final marked a turning point in their cricketing journey.

1996 – Sri Lanka’s Surprise Win

The 1996 Cricket World Cup, co-hosted by Pakistan and India, was a tournament filled with surprises. Sri Lanka emerged as the champions, defeating Australia by 7 wickets in the final. Aravinda de Silva’s exceptional all-round performance played a pivotal role in Sri Lanka’s historic win.

2003 – Australia’s Dominance Continues

Australia’s dominance in the world of cricket reached new heights in the 2003 Cricket World Cup, hosted by South Africa. The Australian team, led by Ricky Ponting, showcased their superiority by defeating India by 125 runs in the final, securing their second consecutive World Cup title.

2011 – India’s Home Glory

In 2011, India co-hosted the Cricket World Cup with Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. The Indian team, captained by MS Dhoni, rose to the occasion, winning the tournament by defeating Sri Lanka in the final by 6 wickets. The final at Wankhede Stadium, Mumbai, witnessed a historic six by Dhoni to seal the victory.

2019 – England’s Thrilling Triumph

The 2019 Cricket World Cup, hosted by England and Wales, will be remembered for its nail-biting final between England and New Zealand. The match ended in a tie, and the Super Over that followed also ended in a tie. England was declared the winner based on the boundary count, bringing home their first-ever World Cup trophy.

Cricket World Cup Winners: A Legacy of Excellence

The Cricket World Cup winners’ list reflects the rich history and evolution of the sport. Each victory tells a unique story of determination, teamwork, and resilience. It’s not just about winning a tournament; it’s about the spirit of cricket that transcends boundaries.

Cricket World Cup Winners: In Numbers

  • Total World Cups: 12
  • Most Titles: Australia (5)
  • Hosts with Most Wins: England (3)
  • Smallest Margin of Victory: 1 run (India vs. West Indies, 1983)
  • Largest Margin of Victory (by runs): 125 runs (Australia vs. India, 2003)
  • Largest Margin of Victory (by wickets): 10 wickets (Australia vs. England, 2007)
  • Most Runs in a Single Tournament: Martin Guptill (547 runs, 2015)
  • Most Wickets in a Single Tournament: Mitchell Starc (27 wickets, 2015)

Cricket World Cup Winners: Looking Ahead

The Cricket World Cup continues to be a marquee event in the cricketing calendar. With fierce rivalries, iconic moments, and a legacy of excellence, it captivates the hearts of fans worldwide. As we eagerly await the next edition, one thing is certain: the Cricket World Cup will continue to be a showcase of skill, sportsmanship, and the enduring spirit of cricket.


The Cricket World Cup winners list is a testament to the rich tapestry of cricketing history. It’s a journey that spans decades, continents, and emotions. From the West Indies’ dominance in the inaugural edition to England’s historic triumph in 2019, each victory has its own unique story. It’s not just a list; it’s a chronicle of cricketing greatness.

As cricket enthusiasts, we relish these moments, celebrate the victories, and eagerly anticipate the next chapter in this extraordinary saga. So, whether you’re a fan of Australia’s relentless pursuit of excellence or India’s passion and flair, the Cricket World Cup is a celebration of cricket in all its glory.

As we conclude this journey through the annals of cricketing history, we leave you with a quote from the legendary Sir Vivian Richards, a true champion of the game: “Cricket is not just a sport; it’s a way of life. And the World Cup is the ultimate stage where dreams are realized and legends are born.”

So, let’s continue to cherish this beautiful game, and may the Cricket World Cup continue to inspire generations of cricketers and fans alike.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to Top